Sign Language

Amelia is describing lengthy conversations with her host family in Paris.

I am seriously impressed; I had no clue her French was that good.

Gosh, I say, in manner of seriously impressed person, ‘did you manage all that in French, darling?’

‘Duh Mum’, she looks at me like I am really old and really stupid and says, in slow, loud voice – not unlike the tone you’d use with really old, really stupid person or, come to think of it, a foreigner (the same tone she used with host family in Paris, I think with faint quiver of embarrassment) – ‘you ever heard of sign language?’

Right.

Yes.

4 Responses to “Sign Language”

  1. Gillian Says:

    Hello, I have just come across your blog and I have been lapping it up. I keep a blog about the School of St Jude in Arusha, and I’m enjoying the learning curve too.

    I am Australian and hope to visit TZ in Sept.

    Where are you moving to? Will you be farming there too?

    Wishing you all good things,
    Gillian

  2. Richard Says:

    Just a note to say I think you write wonderfully. Stumbled across the blog entirely by accident, but I’ll be back! Thank you for writing it.

  3. Alex Says:

    Thank You

  4. SouthWind42 Says:

    I think you post makes the powerful point that in a age when people are using their brains to do all sorts of wonderfully useful things, appealing to subjective reality is no longer good enough. ,

Leave a Reply

