Excuses, excuses …

These are some of the things I have done in the last nine days.

 I have hosted a farewell party;

I have packed up the last of our home on the farm and moved – finally – out … forever;

I have palmed my children off on various kind friends;

And I have driven to the Outpost (on marginally improved roads so the journey took ten hours instead of 15) with husband and dogs and unpacked our home there before flying back to Arusha – yesterday – to rendezvous with my children (a 5 hour drive to airport preceded the one hour flight) at the home of eternally tolerant and generous friends.

 These are some of the things I must do in the next nine days:

 I must fly to London – with my brood, take the train to Northamptonshire, where my mother lives, and spend the next three weeks trying to persuade a headmaster at one of the five schools we plan to visit that my older children are worthy of a bursary of scholarship. In short, I must grovel for something I cannot afford.  Boarding school – because of where we now live – can no longer be avoided.

 I hope all of the above explains long overdue post?

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Excuses, excuses …”

  1. Roberta Says:

    I’ve read every word with relish! I feel like a long lost friend has returned. Good luck in London!

  2. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Thank you, Roberta. I’m going to enjoy blogging about it.

Leave a Reply

