Anybody out there parenting budding Britney?

I need help.

I’m doing a story for an English newspaper based on my pitch to the editor ‘what do you want to do when you grow up and what does your mother want you to do?’. I need to talk to teens who want to pursue careers that his/her parents would perhaps rather they didn’t. Think daughters who say they want to be the next Britney Spears or boys who aspire to become Wayne Rooney. Not because I have anything against either (well, I do but you know what I mean) but because I’m not prepared to allow my kids to kid themselves they are the next Britney or Wayne or whomever since my job as a mother is to protect them from the world at large including themselves and sometimes somewhat fanciful notions.

So. If you’ve got a budding Britney or Wayne or similar and would rather they were going into law or medicine, drop me a line?

Thanks

3 Responses to “Anybody out there parenting budding Britney?”

  1. The Good Woman Says:

    Can’t help really – Bambi wants to be the Tooth Fairy, but at two and a half I’m prepared to humour her.

    Quick question though – aren’t you raising the next Don Bradman? Or Alan Donald? Or Kevin Pietersen? Or is this where the idea came from?

  2. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Thanks all the same, Good Woman. Yes, I am. Actually think it’s Graeme Smith. But his younger sister is a celeb wannabe too – more along lines of Keira Knightley than Paris Hilton, so am thankful for tiny, small mercies!

  3. Roberta Says:

    Wish I could help you, Mem. I have raised a teacher and the future replacement for Gene Simons of Kiss.

Leave a Reply

