History Lessons

Yesterday, partly because the sun was shining and partly because I am determined my children will not waste the unexpected extra week we have in England watching the telly, I dragged everybody off to nearby English Heritage stately home. I don’t know how much they learned of their own English Heritage but I do know they loved belting up and down broad staircases asking questions I couldn’t answer. When they got bored – and I’ve been a mother long enough to know that the slightest hint of boredom must be respected and fended off with food – we sat in the sun and had a picnic whilst the resident peacocks surrounded us like Red Indians round a Totem Pole.

I don’t know if the children will remember much of what they learned about the place itself but they won’t forget that Ben put a tennis ball in his mouth and posed like a Gargoyle on the castle wall (to the astonishment of several passers by) or that a peacock bit Mum in an attempt to steal her salami sandwich. Perhaps the memory of one will prompt the history of another?

One Response to “History Lessons”

  1. R. Sherman Says:

    I’ve been a mother long enough to know that the slightest hint of boredom must be respected and fended off with food.

    Too true.

    Cheers.

Leave a Reply

