Counting Blessings

We have moved from this …

from-this.jpg

beautiful painstakingly renovated barn, home for six years to this …

to-this.jpg

When I think about the space and light and elegantly generous proportions of our old house, when I remember it’s ancient beams, which inspired us to build about them, saving all we could find of the old as we went, squirrelling from dumps for appropriate treasures because we thought it’d always be home, and  when I want to weep for the very essence of a place I miss, I will myself to remember the tough stuff.  I consider that everything that was precious came with me: my family, my dogs, the pictures hanging on the walls.  And I remind myself that it will become home – most places do, given time.

But when it gets really bad and we’re falling over one another in the tiny, dark, faintly charmless bungalow that’s home now, I remember we’re earning a salary again. For the first time in a year.

That usually does the trick.

7 Responses to “Counting Blessings”

  1. Kelli Says:

    Both look pretty! And that tree in your banner? My very favorite tree. I thought they only grew in Africa until I traveled to Nicaragua. They are all over equatorial countries.

  2. The Good Woman Says:

    Oh my goodness. Well, your post implies that it took a lot of work to get your first place looking so beautiful. Which means you have both the skills and the experience to do it again.

  3. Roberta Says:

    What a beautiful place. It’s a pity you had to leave, but you left it with so much personality!

    Might I suggest the use of color? Perhaps a sage green on the inner walls and some lovely, velvety cream to the hall? Nice backdrops to your paintings. Neutral so they will “pop”.

    What ever you do, I’m sure you will move on to the next place and find leaving your “old home” equally difficult.

  4. marie Says:

    Just wanted to let you know that I recently found your blog and I’m greatly enjoying it. I haven’t explored it enough to know the story behind it all, but noticed that you said you’ve spent much of your life in Africa. If you have a chance, I’d love to hear the story!

    marie

  5. Carolyn Says:

    Oh darling, I know how hard this is. You’re just going to have to make a new sanctuary in the outpost, and give the dogs a big cuddle. Mwah!

  6. Paula Says:

    Aaah heartbreaking. Starting over is something I know about as an expat wife. But like you say you still have what is important to you. Home is where the heart is, a shack can be beautiful when tended with love and creativity! Good luck.

  7. You Know You’re Home … « Reluctant Memsahib Says:

    […] the sky and you smile at red eyed shrikes gorging on voluptuously plump, pink-fleshed guava and you Count Your Blessings like your mother taught you […]

Leave a Reply

