Caught

That’s not Henrietta, mum.

It is.

It’s not.

 How do you know?

Henrietta had a blue band around her foot, this chicken doesn’t.

Yes, but I took the band off because I was afraid it’d begin to dig in and make her sore.

A bit later.

That’s not Henrietta, Mum.

It is.

It’s NOT. Henrietta was all quiet and had her eyes half closed yesterday, this chicken is running around and making a noise.

Yes, well, Henrietta’s feeling better today, that’s all.

Later. In tears.

That chicken is not mine, Mum. My Henrietta had black feathers under her white ones.

What could I say to that? that I’d taken her Henrietta to the Chicken Beauty Salon and had her roots done before breakfast.

No, Hat, I’m really, really sorry. That’s not Henrietta; I lied.

And then I told the truth. And through her tears my little Hat had the courage and the grace to say, ”thanks Mum”.

Gawd this job’s hard sometimes.

3 Responses to “Caught”

  1. lifeonaboat Says:

    Mighty woman award! To both you and Hat.
    Love your stories.
    Thanks for your comments..have only just found them!

  2. MisssyM Says:

    Smart little girl….

  3. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Thank you lifeonaboat; it’s my daughter who deserves the award.

    MissyM: I know, isn’t she just: a smart little girl.

Leave a Reply

