Hat’s escape with Hippalus

Hat and I are doing maths. We are studying patterns.

The problem: if James saves 10 cents on Monday, 20 cents on Tuesday, 30 cents on Wednesday, how much will he have saved by the weekend.

“Not much”, says a seriously unimpressed Hat.

 I think we’re supposed to work out how much though, I prompt.

She does. She was right first time round: a buck fifty isn’t going to buy James the most exciting weekend in the history of entertainment.

We move onto history, and Hippalus, who was a Greek explorer who, in AD 37, learned to use the monsoons to his advantage when travelling across the Arabian Sea to India. Hat’s assignment is to write a piece describing a journey with Hippalus …

As Hippalus and I sailed through the Indian Ocean (oh, perhaps I didn’t make my geographical point very clear?) the winds (good girl) blew us to our destination. The ship we were on was old but good and strong. It had huge sails that waved frantically in the air …

Later, when she is meant to be offloading casks of olive oil (I’m assuming that’s what Greeks traded?) Hat is distracted by the beauty of India, I was too absorbed in my beautiful surroundings to work. There were high towers with big beautiful gems on them that twinkled in the morning light. There were Indian people trading goods under the shade of a massive palm tree. To add to all of India’s beauty, there was a snake charmer … and a funny little dwarf convinced his stunning carpets were magic’

The India of Hat’s adventure with Hippalus sounds like a marvellous place to escape to when Outpost overwhelms? And those magic carpets would be particularly useful given our experience earlier in the week. I just hope that the next time I do manage to escape, I’ve got more than $1.50 to take with me or the escaping mightn’t be worth it.

7 Responses to “Hat’s escape with Hippalus”

  1. R. Sherman Says:

    Creative writing is more fun than historical accuracy, isn’t it?

    Cheers.

  2. Mother at Large Says:

    The only currency you’ll need on the magic carpet is lots of imagination! And sounds like you’ve got that in spades.

    Sorry to read about the horrible accident earlier in the week. How shocking and frightening.

    Hat is such a lovely name. It’s my daughter’s real name, as well, though I don’t call her by that in my blog.

    Take care of yourselves.

  3. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Oh much, much more fun. Thanks for reading.

  4. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Thanks Mother at Large. Yup, you’re right: imagination goes further than real money too. We’re recovering. Gently. Hat is a lovely name, isn’t it. She’s Harriet Alice (Harriet because I’d just seen a trailer for Harriet the naughtiest girl in the world who sounded like fun and Alice after my Gran who died when Hat was tiny; I only discovered this summer that Gran was actually Alicia but hated it). But when Hat was christened by local Tanzanian priest, he couldn’t get his tongue around Harriet Alice so she was actually baptized Chariot Harris which amused Hat’s older siblings no end. As I discovered Gran was Alicia, Hat discovered she was named after something with big wheels. Courtesy of big bro and sis!

  5. Iota Says:

    Chariot Harris. So she won’t need a car or a magic carpet. Pity though. I wanted to know more about that dwarf, and whether the $1.50 would be enough to buy one of his carpets.

  6. Pig in the kitchen Says:

    Wow, I think her writing is really good! Well done Hat!

  7. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Thanks Pig. Iota I think possibly $1.50 might have bought a carpet; it exceeds Hat’s weekly pocket money, an amount she is always sweetly optimisitc about … with my pocket money this week I am going to buy a CD player, a dining room table for my dolls house, some wool so I can carry on knitting – five different colours I think – and some sweets for us, Mum

Leave a Reply

