Rehema’s opinion of Gordon Brown’s Policies

Rehema came to work with me when my children were tiny. She managed me, them, the house. I couldn’t entice her to Outpost, too far she said (she’s not wrong); instead she opted to stay behind and work for a friend.

I miss alot of things about Rehema: her roast potatoes, the way she could tidy out a cupboard, her humour. I also miss our discussions and her outspoken political opinions.

When I asked her, two years ago, whether she’d heard about Mr Brown’s policy to Make Poverty History, she replied, tiredly, that yes, she had – on the radio, she said.

And what do you think? I asked.

”This is what I think, mama”, she said, “I think the poor people in Mr Brown’s country are going to give even more money to rich ones in Africa because they think it’s going to make a difference to my life, to my daughters’ lives. And it’s not. Because not a cent will reach us”.

4 Responses to “Rehema’s opinion of Gordon Brown’s Policies”

  1. Potty Mummy Says:

    Not sure what to write on this comment, other than how can I help?

  2. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    thanks Potty Mummy. But that’s the problem. It’s hard to help or make an impact until one is absolutely certain the money is going to the right places. In order for that to happen, it needs to be monitored all the way down by scupulous individuals with Africa’s best interests at heart, and then those who understand her machinations need to manage it. No point in a Swede in a shiny new 4 x 4 who doens’t speak the language and has never lived outside of Sweden managing $5m earmarked for drought relief … And the world needs to grasp the reality that Africa needs a helping hand up. Not handouts.

  3. Iota Says:

    Are there any NGOs who you WOULD give money to?

  4. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    absolutely Iota; if I knew that that every cent was going where I’d hoped it’d go.

Leave a Reply

