In the event of a rash, seek medical advice urgently …

By Monday evening I felt significantly worse than I’d ever felt with malaria.

I had also noticed a rash developing around my torso.

I referred to the drug insert. In the event of a rash, seek medical advice urgently; this could indicate severe, possibly fatal, allergic reaction.

Marvellous.

I live miles from anything approximating an A&E department and the only Outpost doctor I have faith in was winging her way to Europe.

The rash began to itch, I grew increasingly nauseaous and my legs began to feel peculiar. I went to bed. Again.

Suffice to say, I’m still here. Thank God. 36 hours later and the drugs are slowly being eliminated, the rash is less itchy. I can eat again.

A doctor I speak to thousands of miles away in why-can’t-I-live-there Nairobi urges me not to use the same anti-malarial again: you’re clearly allergic to one or more of the ingredients, he says. Clearly.

My body is slowly winning the war against bugs and drugs. The Outpost and I remain in an arm wrestle in which, this week, the Outpost definately has the upperhand.

I’m opting out briefly – am off for two weeks R&R with my kids.

Ta-ra

15 Responses to “In the event of a rash, seek medical advice urgently …”

  1. guineapigmum Says:

    It sounds grim. Hope you’re on the mend and have a good time with the kids. gpm

  2. R. Sherman Says:

    Get well and have fun.

    Cheers.

  3. Roberta Says:

    You will be missed, but enjoy!

  4. iota Says:

    Good on ya.

    We’ll be here when you get back.

  5. lifeonaboat Says:

    What a nightmare….crisis at outpost sounds like being at sea, miles from anywhere, just when you need someone. Delighted you off to spend time with your kids. Nothing like it! Be kind to yourself and enjoy your kids. x

  6. MisssyM Says:

    Reluctant- A message which has nothing to do with this post but an earlier one. Harper Collins has just released an initiative where new writers can submit their work to a site called Authology (I think) and then the ones that get the best feedback will be considered for publication. If you listen to tonight’s Chris Evans Show on BBC Radio 2 you’ll hear about it on the business news. Worth a punt, I say. I thought of you immediately.

  7. Carolyn Says:

    Enjoy, and take care of yourself!

  8. Kath Says:

    Sounds like you definately need some R & R. Why now hop on plane to UK??? Would love to see you and you can collect my goddaughter’s Christmas pressie… Thinking of you. K xxx

  9. Kathleen Says:

    Hope yr feeling well soon!

  10. Pig in the kitchen Says:

    Oh it sounds horrid, hope you are feeling better soon!
    Have a great time.
    Pigx

  11. Susan Says:

    Oh, boy. You definitely need a break after that. Hope you are feeling better.

  12. zhumba Says:

    pam param ?

  13. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Thank you all. I’m back now. Just. Joyous ten days at the beach with all my children. We got sunburned, laughed alot, ate too much rubbish and put all thoughts of boarding school, Outposts and rashes out of our minds. Glorious.

  14. lifeonaboat Says:

    Great!!!! Delighted to hear.
    Mighty woman!

  15. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    MisssyM – thank you for thinking of me and for the tip. I’m online looking for it now …

Leave a Reply

