Out of Site

 

Drunk Mummy did it and now Iota’s gone and done it: dropped out of site.

 I completely understand their reasons for blogging off. Blogging, as fabulously escapist as it is, can get in the way of real hard-copy life; it can intrude on what needs to be done, (writing a post or reading somebody else’s is, let’s face it, infinitely more entertaining than doing homework or – in my case – cooking supper).  

And I think that sometimes the urgency to blog dissipates as life takes on a slightly different shape. There’s a little less space in life’s new mould for blogging. And that’s often a good thing: Iota’s taking a break because, after almost a year, she’s found her groove. And that’s cool: I’m glad she’s happy. And I’m glad she’s settled. It’s horrid when the terrain of a new life bumps and jars and is generally pretty uncomfortable. Blogging cushions. Venting into cyberspace is extraordinarily cathartic, that faceless, nameless ranting is good for the soul. And the sympathetic, funny, empathetic responses soul food.

I began to blog because an editor said it’d be good for my profile. What’s that? I wanted to ask, but didn’t because when you’re pretending to be a writer it’s very important to keep up appearances and feign knowledge of the jargon. If he meant blogging would mean more commissions, he was talking nonsense. Somewhere in the gloomy recess of memory, though, I remembered reading that if you’re going to call yourself a writer, as I optimistically do at dinner parties in the hope somebody will think I’m interesting enough to talk to, you need to write. Every day. Even just a little bit. 500 words will do it.

So I began blogging. At a time when my own terrain was a bit bumpy. And people were kind enough to read and this whole relationship was born out of words in cyberspace.

And all that’s great. Until those with whom you have developed an affinity simply on the strength of their words and yours, disappear out of site.

And then you feel a bit sad. It’s not quite like losing touch with a  friend, because – of course – how can you be friends with somebody you’ve never clapped eyes on, never spoken to, don’t even know their real name, but it is a bit like that.

So to Drunk Mummy and Iota, I wish you all the best in your endeavours. Write a book, tell your readers about it – albeit on briefly resurrected blogs – and those of us too far from a bookstore will buy our copy online at Amazon.

Good luck, girls. I will miss you.

11 Responses to “Out of Site”

  1. Tom Says:

    Your “Profile” is a combination of your body of work and your readers who will commercially support your work by buying what your publisher prints.

    A blog is a simple way to have people find your work. You can shamelessly promote anything you’re writing and potential publishers do know what blogs are the most popular.

    I’m sure you’ve visited blogs with lots of ads and yet you still continue visiting that blog. I think it’s a great way to make a living writing, and I hope you don’t give it up.

  2. Roberta Says:

    I have been online for at least 11 years; writing, editing and publishing. Some of the dearest people I’ve ever met have been those I have met on the internet.

    It is my contention that without vocal inflection or body language, the true nature of a person comes through by the words they choose to communicate.

    I absolutely adore reading your blog. My future daughters-in-law are also reading, although I see they are not commenting, and we often discuss you after Sunday dinner.

  3. R. Sherman Says:

    This blog thing does take stamina. For many, me included, it constitutes therapy — a way to organize my thoughts about things other than the daily grind of work. I don’t know how long it will last. That’s the nice thing. One can take a break periodically and recharge.

    I enjoy your writing and hope you’re in it for the long haul. It’s fortunate, that we’re able to find the silver, i.e. this blog, amidst all the dross out there.

    Cheers.

  4. Potty Mummy Says:

    Well put, RM. I will miss her too, and am simply hoping that the internet will help me uncover a funny, insightful, and poignant replacement. Or that Iota changes her mind…

  5. RobC Says:

    Blogging has made me a better communicator and I do not think I would stop altogether, it is also a form of therapy for me.
    The bloggers I have met in real life have been amazing people and those that I correspond with by e-mail have become penfriends at least.

  6. Kathleen Says:

    Its funny I never thought I would make friends with people online. When I decided to start blogging I read some advice somewhere, I think it was the Angry Chicken blog, that you should do it with heart. Thats not an easy thing for me to do, I’ve been steadily loosening up and putting more of myself into my words, but its difficult. I admire all people that even attempt to do this. Blogging does take time tho, but I keep reminding myself that I’m building something and it takes time and care.

  7. Primal Sneeze Says:

    I like to think blogging is something I do for myself. Something personal. Not for readers – they can like it or lump it. After all, I’m not being paid for it.

    But by a strange twist of fate I ended up doing real world business with a fellow blogger recently. The deal was struck via email, the ‘goods’ delivered likewise and payment was through PayPal.

    They made money. I made money. Without our blogs we would never have found each other. So in a way, this one deal could be considered payment for 18 months of blogging I believed I was doing for free.

  8. minx Says:

    Apparently there are certain points in a blog that determine its life expectancy. If you get over the first three months then you are likely to carry on for another twelve months. Many drop off after a year, especially if they have no defined voice or subject (how long did you actually keep a diary going anyway?).
    I have known a lot of blogs who have faded out – some have taken a break, and others get a life!
    I’ve been blogging since March 06 and don’t appear to be running out of ammo yet.

  9. iota Says:

    Oh, Rel Mem, didn’t you read the bit in my last post about how I’m still going to be reading and commenting? I couldn’t do without a bit of surfing around to see what everyone is up to.

    And I did carefully say “taking a break” and not “giving up for good”.

    Thank you for your kind words.

    I love the way you are so self-deprecating about your writing. You are such a good writer, bringing every scene to life that your keyboard touches. I remember well the “107 emails” blog post though – it’s not an easy gift to turn into a paid career.

  10. piginthekitchen Says:

    You do write beautifully, and you capture the ‘therapy’ of blogging very well. Love the idea of having a ‘profile’!
    Pigx

  11. Mother at Large Says:

    I miss Iota and Drunk Mummy too; I’ve never met either lady, but they felt like friends and I’m sad they’re not around as much these days.

Leave a Reply

