Wet Towels

Hat and I have finished school for the term. I don’t know how much she’s learned. So long as she enjoyed it. She sweetly tells me that her vocabularly is broader now that she’s homeschooled.   That’s not because I’m any great orator, but because Hat has a keen ear for new words.

She asks me, ”how do you spell schrewin, mum?”

How do you spell what!? I want to know.

”You know, schrewin

I don’t darling, no. I don’t even know what you mean.  Where have you heard the word used?

”You. When you say to me after I’ve had a shower, don’t leave your wet towel schrewin all over the floor”.

Oooooooooh! Strewn!

Today, we will drive 5 hours to Mwazna on Lake Victoria where we will spend the night, ready to collect Hat’s big brother and sister when they arrive by plane from their school in the north east of the country tomorrow morning. Hat is beside herself with excitement.

And I relish four weeks of picking those wet towels up.

9 Responses to “Wet Towels”

  1. iota Says:

    ‘Strewn’ is one of my favourite words. Only the other night, I had a conversation with my 10 year old about how clothes got strewn around the bathroom floor. He claimed he didn’t know – they were just strewn there. I claimed that there had to be a human agent involved, that clothes couldn’t strew themselves.

    Do you think it is a verb that is always used in the passive, or do you think someone can actively strew? Could he strew clothes? Or can it only be that they are strewn?

    I know a child called Struan, which is an unusual choice of name. Wonder if he spends a lot of his time on the bathroom floor.

  2. Roberta Says:

    What a funny question!

    My favorite quotes from this area are:

    She looked at it like a calf would look at a new gate.

    He walked around like a blind dog in a meat house.

    Just colloquiallisms but they fit in certain occasions. 🙂

  3. R. Sherman Says:

    I hope you have fun.

    BTW, I have meant to ask you how many languages your children speak? (Mine are bilingual in English and German because of their Mom.) Do they use any of the local languages?

  4. Kathleen Says:

    You mean picking up those schrewin towels from the floor, you will enjoy that right? Iota…your comment make me laugh out loud very funny. My 22 yoa only son came home for the weekend from Univeristy and I teared up when he walked through the door, I would give anything to be able to pick up his schrewin articles now.

  5. Misssy M Says:

    Strewn is the curse of all mums. My life would be so much easier without strewn. My whole house is strewn!!

    Merry Christmas to you and your brood!

  6. Nadine Jolley Says:

    Hi there, Nades here. Just wanted to let you know I am always reading you, and love the stories. Enjoy the strewn towels and clothes, and shoes and books and and and. Please do enjoy this wonderful time with the rabble, especially over Christmas. Thinking of little old Mwanza, gosh its a funny place. Drive safe and lots of love to you guys, Love Nades

  7. rsherman Says:

    Just stopping by to wish you and your family a joyous Christmas.

    Cheers.

  8. Back to School « Reluctant Memsahib Says:

    […] Just as there will be too many dry towels. […]

  9. Answers on a Post(card) « Reluctant Memsahib Says:

    […] 5. Towel Rail – Tattie Weasel your kids clearly do as mine do. Strew. […]

Leave a Reply

