You’re Not the Only One

You know how you witness some atrocity on the telly or read an appalling news item in the papers or receive a petition via an email and absolutely determine to do something to make a difference? You ever been there? I have. How many of us tell ourselves we’re going to change the world, just a tiny bit, just one person’s life.   But we’re all too busy; all too jolly busy in our own lives to have the necessary to stick to ”changing the world” promises.

And then someone comes along with an idea – an idea to change the world. A bit. Or at least the world of a few. She gets off her arse, rallies the troops (in blogsphere in this case), and edits a book. She gets it published here so that you can buy it here and simultaneously enjoy reading whilst knowing you’re making a difference here.

I’m in it. Which flatters me greatly. So I have bought my own copy. Which takes the sting just a little out of always telling myself I’d make a difference to somebody’s life.

But never actually getting around to doing it.

 

DID YOU KNOW THAT: according to UNICEF in the last decade 10 million children were traumatised by war

DID YOU KNOW THAT: according to UNICEF in the last decade 10 million children were traumatised by war

9 Responses to “You’re Not the Only One”

  1. rachel Says:

    Well done! I am in it too and have also bought a copy.

    I hope you don’t mind but until I can work out how to get my own version of the picture, I have borrowed the link to yours. Please let me know if that is not ok with you.

    Looking forward to read what you submitted.

  2. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    of course, of course, of course rachel. God only knows how I got the picture up, happy accident I think. Well done. Delighted to be introduced to a new blog too.

  3. Primal Sneeze Says:

    Well done! I just found out about it doing my rounds of the blogs and seen an ad on the Lost White Kenyan Chick’s blog. I’ll give it a plug too.

    Again, well done.

  4. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Thanks Primal. Thanks very much x

  5. Expat Mum Says:

    Well done. It’s actually not that hard to make a small difference. I just organized a modest sponsored walk to help a school in Ghana and before I knew it, the kids had raised $8000 in sponsorship money. And it hasn’t take me much time at all. Makes me think I should do more.

  6. Kathleen Says:

    Wonderful, I am going to download it tonight to listen to it. I found Lulu just last month and we are (the gals at work) putting together a cookbook. Its a great site. Can’t wait to listen to the book.

  7. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    Expat Mum – very well done. $8000 is a huge amount of money and a sterling effort. I still think it’s hard to make a difference … i tried once with a book on mental illness. to no avail. now hat and i are trying to implement a project to raise awareness of malaria – so far my pleas for help have fallen on deaf ears. i really admire those who persevere.

    Kathleen – thank you. And i’m really excited to know you’re going to put a cook book together; i think lulu is a briliant innovation; i think alot of good stuff gets lots on slush piles. Lulu changes that. happy listening. and happy cooking!

  8. nuttycow Says:

    Hoorah to you RM. Of course I am boycotting the book since they didn’t put any of my posts in it etc

    Joking… of course.

  9. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    thank you very much nutty. and welcome back. and thank you especially since it was you who first pointed me in the project’s direction x

Leave a Reply

