Barefoot, beached, bush-whacked.

 

Not trains, planes and automobiles, not exactly, trains, boats and automobiles. And the wide, wide Wami bubbling chocolate towards the aquamarine of the Indian Ocean

And my home for a day. Or two. Treated like a Princess. Though there was no need to peek beneath my matress for a pea; I slept better than I had done in days.

And in the morning I drunk in the view, a broad baked butterscotch biscuit bay and a burnished sea

I took a walk. And found a boat, beached, still beautiful though. Like an old queen lounging on the sand.

And I discovered I wasn’t here first …

Not by a long way: serval, genet, mongoose, bush pigs, hyena, monkeys … they’d all been up before me. All night perhaps: the mongoose indulging in a midnight feast of crab.

And then to the forest, where shade is strung and big butterflies hang on the no-wind, hotly hissing cicada air

Elephant swim in the sea here I was told. I didn’t see evidence of that. But we did meet this chap who was in a dreadful hurry, shooing us off and out of his way. I like to think he was beach bound.

So we left him to it and enjoyed the last peachy kisses of a long hot day and went back for a cold beer.

And I thought how nice it was to play at being a writer …

19 Responses to “Barefoot, beached, bush-whacked.”

  1. nuttycow Says:

    Lovely! Shaky hands on the ele photo there… too many gins 😉

  2. Tattie Weasle Says:

    The art of being a writer is sometimes let teh pictures do teh talking adn wow sounds heavenly!!!!

  3. robyn Says:

    Enjoy! Looks great!

  4. Addy Says:

    Fabulous photos. Wish I was there!

  5. MapesburyMum Says:

    You make me feel homesick!

  6. janelle Says:

    heh he! keep playin’! you do it GOOD! looks heavenly. xx j

  7. doglover Says:

    Great post as usual! janelle’s right!

  8. Mud Says:

    And I sit at my desk, staring at the greyness of Canary Wharf and feel totally uninspired. I wonder why?

  9. Stephanie Says:

    Where is that please? It looks wonderful!

  10. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    thank you all very much. i was very lucky. Stephanie, it’s saadani national park in tanzania, 100 miles north of dar es salaam and on the mainland facing zanzibar. an extraordinary fusion of beach/bush/forest and river.

  11. Carol Says:

    Fab photos – looks like a wonderfully chilled out place. Well done you!

  12. Elie Says:

    You are a wonderful writer.

  13. Paradise Says:

    Fabulous, looks wonderful, you made it sound wonderful. So glad you got to do this ‘in role’ as the writer you are

  14. kathleen Says:

    Looks fabulous. Nice photos

  15. Iota Says:

    The elephant is blurred because you were running out of his way?

  16. R. Sherman Says:

    Just marvelous, especially given that I’m staring at a foot of snow at the moment.

    Cheers.

  17. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    thank you carol, elie, paradise, kathleen; yes Iota, running out of his way. or driving. or shaking perhaps? Mr S: sending you at least a day’s worth of warm sunshine. at least!

  18. Seb Says:

    Thanks for the great photos, they bring back all kinds of memories. I grew up in Kenya in the 50’s and 60’s. Going to the coast was a better than going anywhere else in the world. Great elephant photo. As kids we were always worried that we would meet a leopard, especially when we had to use the long drop at night.

  19. Limner Says:

    Love the boat! It’s foundation like bleached whale bones. Oh, and the elephant! What I wouldn’t give for such an adventure.

    Such pretty-pretty images. And, YES, you ARE a writer! So write on!

Leave a Reply

