Road Trip

Off on a road trip tomorrow.

Husband busy and important and trailing around to visit the regions. I shall tag along. In manner of good wife. Not usually five steps behind. (I have too much to say for that and don’t like my faraway observations being met with a ‘what … I can’t hear you’).  Alongside. At a jog. Because I am much shorter than him and my stride less generous. I shall tag with my book, a dozen back copies of unread Spectators, a lingering commission, my camera and my laptop. I shall take pictures and make notes and if you can bear it I shall drag you virtually along – south west to the border with Zambia,  just a hop, skip and a jump from Malawi, then south east so that we almost touch fingers with Mozambique, then all the way up and around through Central Tanzania and back to my little Outpost.  Thousands and thousands of miles; I shall keep count this time.

I love road trips. I love the escape. The detachment. The Time Stopped Still feeling. The no commitments (not for me: other than make the odd sandwich and brew a flask of tea). I love the convserations. I love the way the country whizzes by and morphs from dessicating grey miombo (where I live) to high green tea (the furthest reach of our journey). I love the dust in my hair, the feel of it talcy beneath my bare feet, the eating out of a tupperware and drinking tea with the smell of woodsmoke in my nose, I love peeling a hardboiled egg and tossing the shell to the ants. And I love eating my breakfast with and the sight of spilling Africa all around me.

So. See ya.

10 Responses to “Road Trip”

  1. Robyn Says:

    oh-so glad i can come with

  2. kathleen7 Says:

    I am coming along too!

  3. Addy Says:

    Looking forward to joining you on your travels.

  4. Mwa (Lost in Translation) Says:

    I’m looking forward to it!

    And it’s nice to see a picture of you in the middle of it.

  5. R. Sherman Says:

    Frankly, I can’t wait for your posts. I hope the internet is handy.

    Cheers.

  6. Lyn Says:

    Oh I can’t wait to see what else you post, I feel like I am going on a trip too. I can’t believe how many miles you log! Safe travels,

  7. Doglover Says:

    Anys eat eggshells? I learn something everyday!

  8. Doglover Says:

    For “anys” read “ants”!

  9. MsCaroline Says:

    I am already looking forward to your posts. And may I say (with a certain amount of bitterness) you don’t look nearly old enough to have 3 children the ages of yours..Nonetheless, I will revel in your open spaces, dusty roads, and wood smoke as I head to my new life in Seoul: high rises, subways, and the roar of the crowd..

  10. teuobk Says:

    This promises to be an amazing trip! I’m starting a road trip around North America next week, but that will likely pale in comparison to the sights and adventures you’ll experience in Africa. I’m jealous. Some day…

    What kind of vehicle are you making the trip in? Looks like it might be a Land Cruiser?

Leave a Reply

