Road Trip; Day 6 and Home

Road Trip Day 6
Dodoma to the Outpost
398 Klms, hours on the road – 9

 

The moon hung high and defiant for a long time after sun-up. I imagined she had borrowed the confidence from the spectacular show she’d delivered two nights previously: a lunar eclipse when a bruised and red shadow dragged across her surface and the stars hung extra bright all around, winking encouragement.

The sun came up in a sky stained turmeric and the rocks blushed at being caught so bare and the baobabs waggled their roots in silent greeting of a beautiful dawn. It wasn’t until almost nine that the last traces of the moon’s gauzy orb disappeared entirely, melting with the heat, vanishing into the blue.


Off the tar and the road disintegrates to dust as fine as talc.

The tobacco trucks are on the move. This year more than 5000 of them will haul the produce of 93 000 peasant farmers down this narrow alley to HQ. 103 million kilos. That’s a lot of smokes observes Husband.  I’m not a smoker but I’m still glad about that.

We sneak a last mug of tea and I sip and drink in the view of Lake Chaya, its waters receding quickly so that lilies jostle greedily for space and the swamp grasses are recklessly green, a final fling before they wither and die.  There are elephant prints here.  And a shy bat-eared fox sunning himself atop his burrow; he is too quick for my lens though.

The last few hours are quiet. And we then we are home. To a car that needs unloading of the detritus of more than a week on the road  – my sunshine bright everlasting flowers picked from our lonely church hillside are still sunshine bright – and two dogs delirious with delight at our return.

The thing about road trips – I reflect later – is the perspective they lend, in myriad ways: time to consider how lucky you are to see all this; time to enjoy evovling views, every corner offers a new one; time to think; time to enjoy being away and then the chance to feel pleased at getting home.

11 Responses to “Road Trip; Day 6 and Home”

  1. Addy Says:

    Thank you for that – I thoroughly enjoyed the trip. Can we go again?

  2. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    so glad you came along Addy. Yup, we’ll take off again soon. x

  3. Almost American Says:

    Thanks for bringing us along on your trip. Gorgeous photos!

  4. Helen Says:

    I want to come home! After 32 years away, it’s still home. Your stories and pictures make me cry, I’m so homesick. Thank you for bringing me back there for at least a short time.

  5. R. Sherman Says:

    I just got home from my own extended road trip to enjoy the pleasure of your report(s). I’m sorry I can’t post better comments to all of the trip posts, but I’ve got to catch up. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Cheers.

  6. MsCaroline Says:

    We’re in the middle of trying to adjust to life in Seoul, but I have been managing to peek here and there at your delicious photos and beautifully-woven-together commentary…lilies jostling greedily and rocks blushing at being caught bare…I love the way you use words…your last photo has me desperately missing our own yellow labrador who had to be left behind when we moved…

  7. tash Says:

    “…the sun came up in a sky stained turmeric and the rocks blushed at being caught so bare and the baobabs waggled their roots in silent greeting of a beautiful dawn…” Craft!

    Karibu kwako xx

  8. reluctantmemsahib Says:

    thank you all for coming along! hope you enjoyed; i certainly did. hope we can all escape again soon xx

  9. Doglover Says:

    What a journey! You look as tired as I was when we got back!

    Thanks for taking us all along with you. It looks a beautiful country, but I’m happy staying here in the UK …

  10. R.Sherman Says:

    I’m catching up after some time away.

    I really enjoyed this series, both your musings and the photographs. One can almost taste the dust and smell the water when reading them. I think you should take more road trips, if only to placate your readers.

    Cheers.

  11. Limner Says:

    Hey! Thanks for the ride, lady. Hope you’ll allow me to tag along on your next trip. 🙂 Wish we had baobab trees in Texas. 😦 I just know they’re filled with magic.

Leave a Reply

