Valentines and Pink Hair

Time is swept aside by a huge swimming tide and a wind that throws palm fronds to the ground with a rattled crash. Where does it go? Time? Too much of it in the outpost and now it slips through my fingers, mercurial. Too quicksilvered for me to get a handle on. I wonder that I didn’t waste the stuff before?


Hat is home. A precious sojourn from wintery England. She says it’s nice to feel warm, to wear a bikini and shorts and walk barefoot. She takes my camera and I cheat and steal her pictures. Three to make up for lost time (see? lost!) and gaps in posts where I had promised to paste an image in the ether every day.

 


As I write she is dipping tresses of her titian hair into various small bottles of confectionary colouring so that when we trawl the Old Town tomorrow in search of treasures to take back to school she will be rainbow headed and giggling. I say, “I hope that washes out before Matron sees it”; Matron was not enamored of the henna decorated hands at the beginning of term. I’m sure it will Mum, says Hat in a tone that suggests she couldn’t really care either way.

 

Which is how it should be at – almost – 15.

 

10 Responses to “Valentines and Pink Hair”

  1. robyn Says:

    i love that-food dyed hair! that and hearts and holidays in the sun-who needs more in life…

  2. Iota Says:

    Love that heart in the first photo. Classy.

    • reluctantmemsahib Says:

      isn’t it cool Iota? that was a rock pool exactly as she found it, no styling, just like that. I thought it was amazing.

  3. Expat Mum Says:

    Sigh – I wish my 16 year old (son) had thought of food dye before turning his hair pink. I have a feeling we’re in for another (darker) colour if a few weeks when the novelty wears off!

    • reluctantmemsahib Says:

      food dye does have an upside Expat, I agree. Hat told me I had told her older sister years ago – when she wanted blue hair – that food dye would do it, ‘were you lying mum?’, she asked. Lie?! ME?! To MY children?! Never I said. She got the bottles out to prove the theory anyway. And blue food dye does, indeed, colour hair blue. Who’d have guessed.

  4. kathleen7 Says:

    I’m so glad your back, totally enjoying checking in on you and yours.

  5. Elaine Says:

    Lovely photos.

    Will there be photo of the food-dyed hair? It sounds interesting! 🙂

  6. Carol Says:

    I want to see a photo of Hats multi-coloured hair! And wonder what the matron said! Very good photos taken by her, well done!

  7. Karen SP Says:

    This is such a wonderful surprise to find you are back. Hooray!! I hope the new venture will go well.

Leave a Reply

